The Farm Critters

Last night, Meander cornered a flying squirrel by the maple out front.  Philip swooped in (pun entirely intended) and saved the little gal.  Quickly, she scurried up the tree, and I’ve been hearing her cry, wail, squeak, chatter, talk all night and into the morning.  I have named her Cleopatra because she is rather regal.

So just in case you’re keeping track of the animals wcleopatrae have around the place, here’s a list:

Meander, the super pup.

Oscar (Wilde), Emily and Charlotte (Bronte), the wonder kittens.

Lyle, the black bear.

Cleopatra, the flying squirrel.

Pepe, the skunk (who we thankfully haven’t seen or smelled in a while.)

Stephen, Sophie, and Susie, the rabbits.

Bebe and Bobo, the toads.

Jim, the black snake.

Pete, the groundhog.

Many deer that I have yet to name.

I expect we will eventually see a possum, who I will name Louis, I think, because he will be plump and found like my grandfather and Louis Armstrong’s cheeks.

I’ll keep you posted on our newest friends.  Until then, it’s time for final beautifying around the farm.

14 days! 

Published by

Andi Cumbo-Floyd

Andi and Philip live on their 15 acres of quiet at the edge of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Andi is a writer and editor, and Philip is an engineering technician and a vehicle safety center. They share their space with 4 dogs, 4 cats, 6 goats, and 22 chickens.

One thought on “The Farm Critters

Leave a comment